Canadian Runners

Canadian Runner Stories


Oct 8/08: Wykes leads Team Canada to victory: Strong runs by Kingston's Dylan Wykes and Vancouver's Suzanne Evans, plus a gutsy performance by Nicole Stevenson led Team Canada to victory over Mexico and England in the STWM08 International Team Challenge >full story

Read Dylan Wykes STWM08 blog. How does his race experience compare to yours?
(a) Background to Dylan's Toronto Waterfront Marathon
(b) Race Day

Sep 17/08: Stephen Drew ready to take a run at Team Canada place for Berlin …full story on

Sep 9/08: Dylan Wykes leads strong Canadian contingent on road to Berlin, London 2012, at Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon, on September 28th …full story

Send us your story and photo for inclusion



Oct 11/07: Race Report: 2007 Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon — by Jerry Ziak
Jerry recounts his stellar marathon debut. …full story

2007 Team Canada Media Release, Sept 17/07: Competitive Team Canada announced for International Team Challenge at Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon; and the prospect of even better things to come!


Canadian-only Prizing

Dylan Wykes

Canadian National Records (Canadian Citizens Only)

  • MEN: C$1,000 for every year that Jerome Drayton's 2:10:09 record has stood [Fukuoka 1975]. Thus, for STWM2012, the bonus will be C$37,000. (Note: IF record falls before October 14, 2012, then Bonus for a new record will be $25,000).
  • WOMEN: C$1,000 for every year that Silvia Ruegger's 2:28:36 record has stood [Houston 1985]. Thus, for STWM2012, the bonus will be C$27,000.

Canadian Athletes bonuses—Marathon

(open to citizens, Landed Immigrants and those who have had official Refugee status for at least one year)

1st — $5000
2nd — $3000
3rd — $2000
4th — $1000
* minus 50% for slower than 2:15 & 2:35 (Men & Women); minus 75% for slower than 2:18 & 2:40 (Men & Women)

Top Ontario Male & Female—Marathon

Male: Ed Whitlock Trophy + Commemorative plaque
Female: Silvia Ruegger Trophy + Commemorative plaque

Note: the athletes who win Overall prize money (international-class and/or Canadian bonuses—national-class) in the Marathon will be excluded from the Whitlock Trophy and Ruegger Trophy competitions, making them truly a recognition of top regional (Ontario) runners.